Irrigation & Administration

The irrigation department was initially a part of the Public Works Department. Based on the recommendation of The Retrenchment Committee, the staff of the Public Works Department underwent reduction and led to the formation of the Irrigation Division, with three sub-divisions and nine sections to carry out the irrigation works of the State. Later on, as per the G.O (P) No 27/90/PW & T dated 29th march 1990 the Public Works Department was bifurcated into two departments viz, Irrigation Department and Public Works Department with effect from 1st April 1990.

Irrigation Department is further subdivided into 6 different wings ie. Irrigation & Administration, Investigation & Design, Projects-I, Projects-II, Inland Navigation & Kuttanad Package, and Mechanical Wing respectively. The Head Quarters of Irrigation Department is located in Public Office Complex, Thiruvananthapuram, and is under the control of Chief Engineer, Irrigation & Administration.  Irrigation & Administration wing deals with the Major & Minor Irrigation works across the state,  Inter-State Water sharing, Flood Control & Coastal Zone Management, Salt Water extrusion apart from the general administration of the department.

Chief  Engineer, Irrigation & Administration is assisted by  4 Deputy Chief Engineers for Irrigation,  Administration, Vigilance and Inter-State Waters and 6  Superintending Engineers in Circle Offices for Major and Minor Irrigation Works, 3 Executive Engineers for Planning & IT Cell, Irrigation Works and Inter-State Waters respectively, One Joint Director for Irrigation Monitoring, 25 Executive Engineers for 25 Divisions and 6 Executive Engineers to assist Superintending Engineers in Circle Offices. Chief Engineer is also assisted by Law Officer, Senior Finance Officer, Senior Administrative officer for dealing the matter related to legal, Financial, and Administrative aspects.